Highland Elementary

Highland School Community Council


Jon Bejarano - Council Chair

Molly Barrington - Council Chair

Brittney Bills - Parent Member

Tyler Standifird - Parent Member

Jaime Ward - Parent Member

Emmerin Schutz - Parent Member

Matt Killpack - Principal

Jenny Lane - School Member

Sarah Barnett - School Member

About SCC

A school community council is a committee made up of parents and school professionals who help determine the needs of our school and the best methods and programs to support those needs through the School Land Trust Program. Members of the school community council will meet together approximately 5-6 times during the school year to discuss the schools needs, the School Land Trust plan, and its implementation.

Becoming Involved and Joining SCC



Our School Community Council board is elected from nominated parents and teachers each year.  To get involved let our school principal know of your interest in serving on the School Community Council board or complete a nomination information form during the nomination period.  Parents who are elected serve for a two-year term and can serve for multiple subsequent terms as long as they have a child attending our school.


Once the nomination period is closed an election will take place at the school and by online vote.  All parents who are nominated will appear on the ballot.  During the voting period parents with students in the school may cast a secret ballot.  Those nominees receiving the top number of votes will fill the vacant positions on the School Community Council board.  In the event that there are not enough nominees for open positions current School Community Council members will work with the principal to appoint parents to fill those remaining spots.